November 16, 2005

Some random mumblings

Posted in The musings of Erin at 6:50 am by Erin

THUD!  That was the sound of my head hitting the brick wall of my dissertation.  I’m SO CLOSE to getting done with it.  It’s got to be done by Friday and my entire mind is rebelling against it.  The idea of science makes me cringe right now.  I’m tired and it’s lousy weather and none of it is combining to get my last 2 sections done.  I know I just need to push through these last couple of days.  Then I’m not touching it again until after Thanksgiving.  Come Friday, I turn the stupid thing in to my advisor.  Then my laptop shuts down and I put it away, and I spend the weekend and all of next week with my family and friends.  I’m going to spend time with P.  I’m going on a date with J on Saturday night since it’s the 10th anniversary of us starting to date (6+ years married)–I think that deserves a night out!  J’s birthday is Tuesday, so I’ll make him a cake and nice dinner, and shop for a gift from me and one from P.  We’ll go to NY and see my family and watch P and my cousin E, who is 3 months younger than P, play together on Thanksgiving.  I’ll go see "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" with my sister and J, if he wants to come…Grandpa and Bubbi will babysit P, which will make everyone happy.  I’ll see my aunts and uncles and cousins and grandmother, and friends who are in town for the holiday.  And I’m not going to think about science.  We went on vacation with my family in August and I spent the whole week responding to any question about school with "I don’t believe in science this week".  I think I need to reprise it for Thanksgiving.

I got a lovely peak on my monitor today.  Apparently it works properly if you use it the way the directions tell you to!  Who knew?  Anyway, I know I O’d yesterday and my temp started on its way up today, so I think we’re in good shape.

I had my last childbirth class with my couple last night, and a friend came over to help out since it was a class about new parenting.  She came over with her daughter, who is 5 months older than P, to share her experiences.  It was a lot of fun.  And I think this couple may invite me to their birth if I’m in town, which would be awesome.  I’m nervous about going because I’ve never attended a birth before (other than mine and P’s, of course), but birth is so cool and natural childbirth is so inspiring–and they’re planning a waterbirth!  So hopefully they’ll go into labor at a time when I can be there for it and they’ll call me.

We still have the top of our armoire sitting in our downstairs hallway.  It’s been there for 3 weeks.  I want it gone!  I need to call some neighbors and see if they’ll help us get it upstairs.  I’d like to be able to get into my downstairs bathroom again.

I think I just keep writing to procrastinate working on my dissertation.

I’ll stop.

Right

now.

2 Comments »

  1. Courtney said,

    Hope you managed to bust through that wall–your holiday plans sound so lovely and will be a wonderful, wonderful way to enjoy your “I don’t believe in science” break!
    Congrats on the nice peak reading!

  2. Carol said,

    Hey there! I didn’t realize that you and J had been together for almost the same time Devon and I have. Our 10 yr dating anniversary was Nov 12th though we haven’t been able to celebrate yet. We have also been married 6 years as of March 7th. How crazy is that? :o)
    Tomorrow is D-day and I hope that you are able to put it out of your mind for a nice break afterwards! Also, it is *great* you got a peak on your monitor. Lots and lots of luck for this cycle!!


Leave a Reply

