January 16, 2006

My name is Erin, and I’m a 24-aholic

Posted in The musings of Erin at 9:19 am by Erin

I absolute love 24.  When we got our 2006 calendar, one of the first things I put on it was the dates of the season’s premiere of the show.  P was born on a Wednesday (during the second season, when that was the night it was on), and before we left for the hospital at 1 a.m. that morning, I set the VCR so that it would be taped while I was in the hospital.

Some people have mentioned that perhaps my priorities were slightly skewed.

It didn’t work, since the power blinked off that day and reset the whole thing.  Fortunately my parents, being fellow 24-aholics, taped it and brought it down to me from NY when they came down that weekend.  They have also mailed me one or two of the episodes over the last few seasons (since I’ve asked them to be J’s backup on taping them if I miss it, and that’s been important occasionally). 

My mom said she’s getting a blood pressure cuff for home use and she plans on taking her BP right after watching it one time to see if it really does go up.  I have called them upon occasion during a commercial to remind them to breathe while they have a chance 😉  J is not a fan, but will enjoy it once in a while.

Needless to say, I was watching 24 last night from 8-10.  And will be doing so again tonight.  But I have to tell you, 4 hours of the show in 26 hours is too much.  I hate that they start the seasons like this.  Last night, I was ready to be done after 2 hours.  I could use a week off before watching anymore.  It’s really intense and gripping–they killed off 2 and severely wounded another of the biggest characters from the last few seasons in the first 15 minutes last night.  I sat there with my mouth hanging open in shock for most of the first hour after that.

Kiefer Sutherland is fabulous as Jack Bauer, though he’s had an awful lot of bad days in his career.  If I kept having days like that, I’d probably have been committed by now.

1 Comment »

  1. Courtney said,

    With my mom and sister here, I indulged in watching t.v. last Sunday and was BLOWN AWAY by 24. I had the exact same reaction to what happened to those 3 major characters and am already anticipating buying the DVD for this season.
    It made me smile to see that you are also a 24-aholic because it was soooooo amazing a kickoff and now I see that we can talk Harry Potter and 24 with equal excitement and passion and appreciation!


Leave a Reply

