May 8, 2006

The belly rules the mind ~Spanish Proverb

Posted in Pure weirdness at 6:00 am by Erin

To continue with my weird posts, I thought I’d write about my food obsessions. I love food. I love the texture, the taste. I love to cook with it, and find new and interesting meals. If you ask me about our family vacations in Maine, I would tell you all of the wonderful things we’ve always eaten before talking about the cottage, walking on the jetty, or all the other fun things we’ve done.

I know this for a fact, because my ex-boyfriend pointed it out to me one time when he was asking what we did there. I didn’t even realize that I did it.

I could tell you what we’ve eaten almost anywhere I’ve gone in the world. I love trying new foods.

But sometimes, I get obsessed with a food. I’ll crave it and think about it constantly until I have some, and then I just want some more of it. Fortunately, there always comes a point when I’m tired of the food and move on to something else.

This didn’t happen before P, so I find it rather ironic that this happens these days, since I had exactly one craving while pregnant. One day, I desperately wanted some chocolate but, being a naïve little duckling, figured that it was just my body wanting something sweet and I could satisfy it with a healthy sweet treat. I started with strawberries. Then some orange juice. I tried honey. And several other things, though they escape my mind now. Finally, I admitted that if I didn’t get some chocolate, I was going to go crazy—despite the fact that I’d eaten enough while trying to avoid eating chocolate that I was full. I found a box of Thin Mints in my freezer, ate 2, and was fine. And nary another craving did I have while pregnant. I was kind of disappointed—I really wanted to wake J up at 2 a.m. and demand ice cream. Alas. Maybe next time (*snort*).

Anyway, usually my obsessions are unhealthy. I’ve been preoccupied with éclairs, ice cream sundaes, chocolate chip cookies, and strawberry shortcake.

On rare occasion, and it seems like more often lately, I desperately crave healthy things. Whole wheat toast with organic peanut butter, tomato and basil soup, sushi, berries, and salads.

(Insert French accent here:) Oh, salads, my current obsession. Oh, you are magnifique! (Now I’m picturing Pepe le Pew kissing a head of lettuce…wow, I’m a freak.) I keep buying enormous containers of organic baby lettuces at S*m’s Club, throwing on baby carrots, cherry tomatoes, olives, and balsamic vinaigrette dressing, and eating like it’s the last salad that will ever be made. I can go through one of those containers of lettuce in about 4 days.

I would worry about this tendency if it were with éclairs, but salad? Come on, is there really a problem there? I can usually get over an éclair craving after 1 or 2. I’ve been eating salads for 2 weeks now.

It’s always kind of interesting when one ends because I never know what I’ll crave next. Will it be salty or sweet? Healthy or junky? Will I have to stay away from the grocery store to avoid buying it, or will I feel OK about eating it?

Does anyone else ever get this way? What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever craved, pregnant or not?

Leave a Reply

