September 27, 2006

6 down, 8 to go

Posted in The musings of Erin at 2:04 pm by Erin

(Note: this may be the most boring blog post I’ve ever written.  As I’m not naturally amusing or witty like a lot of you, that’s pretty bad.  I’ll understand completely if no one comments.  I think I even bored myself.)

I’m counting down the number of Wednesdays in the semester.  My Wednesdays are hell.  By the time I leave campus on Wednesday night, I have worked 32 or more hours already.  26 of those are evenly split between my Mondays and Wednesdays.  On those days, I’m here from 9 a.m. until my last class ends at 9:45 p.m., and that’s if I don’t have any students with questions after class.  Generally, it’s 10 or later before I finally get to my car.

No wonder I haven’t exercised in weeks–the idea of getting up extra early on Mondays and Wednesdays to go for a walk/jog when I’m going to be on my feet nearly all day is appalling.  And I just can’t drag myself out of bed early enough on Tuesdays and Thursdays to go out before work because I’m so exhausted from the day before.  I have been doing a yoga class on Tuesdays and Thursdays at campus, which has been great.  So naturally, they’re switching that to new times/days in two weeks and I won’t be able to go any more.

The lack of exercise combined with the diet that I’ve been eating lately (of cookies, chips, and candy) isn’t exactly helping me keep off the 5 pounds I lost while I was exercising.  I literally walk into the house on these days, put away my keys and lunch bag, kiss J hello, and go to bed.  Not exactly conducive to doing anything physically active.  I try to convince myself that being on my feet teaching all day is enough exercise, but the scale is determined to prove me wrong.  Damn you, scale!

Tomorrow I have to get up early–u/s is scheduled for 8:30.  I’m still getting a low reading on my monitor.  I’m not feeling particularly fertile right now.  At least, I don’t think I am…but then again, how would I really know what "fertile" feels like?  In any event, my ovaries aren’t even really twinging yet, so I don’t think that the u/s tomorrow’s going to show much in the way of promising follicles developing in there.  But I will let you all know once I do.

4 Comments »

  1. DD said,

    Must be something in the air today.
    Bring on the Febreeze!

  2. Casey said,

    Thinking follicular thoughts (if that is actually possible). Good luck tomorrow.

  3. Lisa said,

    Hi Erin- sorry I haven’t commented in a while- I, too, have a similar schedule to you! I hear you about Mondays and Wednesdays- I work my regular 8-5 job- run to pick up Riley at daycare, drop her off at home with DH, and then I am off to teach from 6-9. It is crazy- and every Monday and Wednesday I question myself as to why I took this extra job- but I really do like teaching.
    Oh, well. . .good luck with your scan- hope there is something growing on those ovaries. . .!!

  4. jennie said,

    I know how you feel, I have had days that I just didn’t ‘feel fertile’ I don’t know how to describe it, but that’s how I felt.
    Hope you get a little time to take it easy and take a little time for yourself. Be careful of burnout.


Leave a Reply

