October 12, 2006

Bring on the twins!

Posted in TTC woes at 7:20 am by Erin

Hahahahaha!  Jeez, I slay myself.

I’ve decided that I now hate my monitor.  Yesterday, it gave me a low reading after 5 days of high readings.  No peak at all.  And it will only test for up to 20 days, which started on d9.  Since yesterday was d28, that was it.  I had my u/s scheduled for this morning and, since yesterday was my busiest Wednesday since the semester started, decided that there was no reason to call and get it done early.

Regardless of what my monitor said, I used a test stick this morning (since you can read them like OPKs even without the monitor) and the test line was slightly darker than the control line.  Not enough to be sure that it was a surge, but definitely darker.  I had my suspicions that I was about to ovulate.  Sure enough, when I went into the clinic for my u/s, I had a 30mm and a 24mm follicle on my right ovary.  Dr. Happy was so excited–she saw that and said "Twins is OK with you, right?"  I said we’d take anyone we get, while thinking "Who says that at a fertility clinic?"  In retrospect, maybe there are couples who really don’t want twins and she was just making sure that it was OK to do an IUI if there was that chance?  Not sure.

Dr. Happy said I’d probably have ovulated on my own tomorrow anyway, but just to be sure, we triggered this morning.  We have IUI#2 scheduled for tomorrow morning, d30. 

As far as I know, this is the first time I’ve ever had more than one follicle, so it feels like maybe my odds are a little better.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t hoping very hard right now that this one works. 

9 Comments »

  1. Krista said,

    Oh, how I am hoping with you! Hope the IUI goes smoothly and the 2 ww is not gruesome.

  2. My Reality said,

    I will be hoping with you!

  3. Dawn said,

    I’ve got everything crossed for you, Erin – I want this for you so badly!

  4. elecriclady said,

    Wow, finally! I’m so glad this cycle was salvageable–and pretty stunningly so, I’d say. Hope everything goes smoothly tomorrow.

  5. Heather said,

    I’m crossing my fingers and hoping very hard with you!!

  6. DD said,

    Those were some mighty fine follicles. If you don’t feel those two blow through, I’d be amazed.
    After all that waiting, let the additional waiting begin.

  7. Casey said,

    Tom Petty said it best: “Waiting is the hardest part.” And when the hell did he ever ovulate?
    Doing a little sperm-meet-egg dance here for you. Okay, I’m really still typing, but I’m thinking about dancing, which is as close as I come most days.
    Looking forward to happy updates.

  8. flygirl said,

    Hoping hoping hoping!!!!

  9. ms. c said,

    I’m also hoping for you! Your follies sound fantastic…


Leave a Reply

