December 3, 2006

Three years ago right now

Posted in Happiness is a true gift at 6:39 pm by Erin

I was utterly exhausted from having been up for about 40 hours straight, and I didn’t care.  I was too enthralled in the baby boy that I had just given birth to less than 6 hours earlier, all 6 lb 11 oz of him.  He had such dark green eyes and adorable blond peach fuzz, and this huge conehead!  He was perfect.  He was so tiny and sweet.  Just the perfect little baby.  I couldn’t believe it.  I got the take-home baby at the end of the whole struggle, and I couldn’t have asked for anything more amazing.

Three years later, I had no idea about how he would have changed my life.  I can hardly remember life without him.  He’s the best kid in the whole world.  For his third birthday, we got him a bike.  My boy, who was just born 3 years ago today, has a little bicycle with training wheels.  He looks a lot like me and a lot like his daddy.  He’s growing so big and tall.  He talks nonstop, and his vocabulary is incredible. He recognizes letters and loves to "read" all of his books–after a reading or two, he’s got them memorized to the point that he can recite them without the book even there. He colors and runs and plays.  He throws rocks down big dirt piles with his daddy and uncle, and he swims with his cousins when we visit them.  He loves to race and play with the dogs most of the times; other times, he wants them to leave him alone–just like a brother does.  And he’s the light of my life.

Happy 3rd birthday, P.  Mama loves you more than she can even say!

(Pictures gone from the public website but feel free to e-mail me for the username and password to the pictures on the sidebar.  I’m going to update them later.)

16 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    He looks SOO proud of his little helmet!! Happy Birthday P!!

  2. Lisa said,

    Happy Happy Birthday P!! How exciting to get his first bike- I am sure he will remember this birthday forever! They grow so fast- I can’t believe we will be planning Riley’s 3rd birthday party soon!
    Hope you have a wonderful day!

  3. Karen said,

    Happy Birthday, P! That’s so exciting. (And what wonderful, if temporary, pictures!)

  4. DD said,

    Did I know that P and X shared the same birthday?! I imagined you both to be brunettes…
    He is so handsome (and you have the cutest dimples, eva!)!
    Happy Birth Day to you, Erin, and Happy Born Day to P.

  5. Amanda said,

    Happy Birthday Patrick!! I remember being on P4P chat with you the night that before you had him, and being absolutely FLOORED when it came across that he was here! Love it, and love the pics.
    Hugs…

  6. Krista said,

    Erin thanks for the pictures! Happy Birthday to your little one, what an amazing little boy.

  7. electriclady said,

    Aww, what a cutie. (And PS, what a cute mama you are too!) Happy birthday P!

  8. thalia said,

    He’s adorable and you look so YOUNG damn you! Happy birthday P, you are a lucky boy
    PS Erin you might want to move manuela back into the ‘trying’ category…

  9. #2 said,

    Happy 3rd b-day!!! Very cute, if short-viewed, pics! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Leggy said,

    Happy birthday P!

  11. Jesspond said,

    Oh, he’s so adorable, really, he is.
    Happy birthday, P!

  12. flygirl said,

    So cute! Thanks for the pics. It’s such a treat getting to put faces to the names. Happy Birthday P!

  13. My Reality said,

    Happy Birthday P! What fantastic pictures, thanks for sharing!

  14. SaraS-P said,

    What a fantastic little guy!
    I can tell he really lights up your life!

  15. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, P!

  16. Carol said,

    A very belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY to P!! I’m shooting you an email now. :o)


Leave a Reply

