December 31, 2006

Fireworks in the rain

Posted in The musings of Erin at 6:05 pm by Erin

My neighbors are rednecks.  Serious rednecks.  They’re as nice as can be, but their Halloween decorations consist of a 3-foot in diameter vampire mouth that hangs from their front porch ceiling–with a beer logo on it.  (That’s just one example, I could give you others.)  Currently, they’re setting off fireworks to help ring in the new year.  Three hours early.  In the rain.  Now THAT’S dedication!  It seemed a nice and poetic title for a blog post.

Our New Year’s Eve plans were to watch a movie together since we have no babysitter.  Instead, I got a migraine.  As a result, I sent J out to spend New Year’s Eve at his friend’s club.  I’ll probably go to bed before midnight and it seemed silly for him to sit here alone when he could be out spending it with friends, alcohol, and some good music.

I’ve actually made two New Year’s resolutions, with which I will now bore you:

1.  I will be more organized this year.  I did this a couple of years ago and it lasted for 6 weeks.  It was a great 6 weeks.  I had more time to spend with P and J (which is always important), more time to exercise (which led to my getting into better shape), and the house was cleaner more often.  I don’t remember why I stopped, but this year I’m resolving to try to keep it up for at least 2 months.

2.  I will be a new mother again in 2007, or at least be close to being a new mother when 2008 begins.  I hope, wherever my son is right now, he’s happy and being held with love tonight.

7 Comments »

  1. K&M said,

    No way! Our neighbors are doing fireworks right now too! Actually it sounds like they’re skinny cats, but whatever. Happy New Year!

  2. Jesspond said,

    Good luck on your resolutions!!
    Happy new year!

  3. Ellen K. said,

    Happy New Year! Firecrackers in our neighborhood went on for 2 solid hours last night, 11 pm to 1 am. Or perhaps they were gunshots — another way the most yokel of locals like to ring in the New Year, by firing guns into the air.

  4. flygirl said,

    Good resolutions both!
    I’m sure that 2007 will be a good year for you.

  5. lucKy #2 said,

    Happy New Year!
    Nice resolutions…I think you will see both through this year! šŸ™‚

  6. thalia said,

    So what’s different when you are organised? Is it a question of what you do when you sit down in the evening? or making lists each weekend?
    Very excited to hear about all your plans. Here’s to being a mother again in 2007.

  7. SaraS-P said,

    Your neighbors’ relatives must live on my street.
    I hope your resolutions are met!


Leave a Reply

