November 1, 2007

OK, I’m tired of complaining

Posted in The musings of Erin at 5:55 am by Erin

Perhaps it has something to do with having gone to bed at a reasonable hour every night since Sunday, and at 9:15 last night (!), but I feel far more positive and happy than I have in a while.  I’m enjoying it. 

P and I went trick-or-treating last night with several of our neighbors.  P dressed as Darth Vader–we started him on the classics early.  Do you have any idea how hard it is to find a Darth Vader costume for a 3-year old?  He would not be swayed by Obi-Wan Kenobi or Chewbacca.  No, my boy had to be Darth Vader.  It’s not exactly a costume I could make, either.  Fortunately, at the last minute (OK, last Friday) and as I was about to give up and tell him he could be a pirate or nothing, I found one.  And, since it was the last minute, it was 30% off–hooray!  It was a little big on him but he looked so cute.  We bought a new camera and as soon as I figure out how to download the photographs from it, I’ll share them with you.

It was a bit of a waste, however, as he refused to wear the mask for most of the time that we were out and I ended up carrying both that and his light saber (actually, it was a Batman sword–I refused to buy another sword when he already has one.  I also refused to be swayed by the arguments that it was blue and Darth Vader’s light saber is clearly red.  I am not a purist.)

Did you know that light saber battles in T@rget are apparently fun for 3-year-olds and 30-year-olds alike?  I wasn’t sure who to threaten first about taking away the light saber: P or J.  I was, however, impressed with P’s skills and decided we should get the boy into fencing practice as soon as possible.  Strangely, that’s not one of the available additional classes at his school. I can just picture the conversations I would have with other parents:

Parent 1: "My son scored three goals last week!" 

Parent 2: "My daughter swam three laps in the pool last week!" 

Parent 3 (me): "My son nicked his instructor’s femoral artery last week!"

It’s NaBloPoMo now, isn’t it?  Don’t expect a post every day from me, but I am going to try to post more often.  And respond to posts more often.  There’s a lot going on in the blogworld and I’d like to be a part again.  Thanks for all of your support through the last couple of weeks–they’ve been pretty rough for me, and your words have brought me more comfort than you know.

7 Comments »

  1. DD said,

    There’s stuff going on in the blog world? What stuff?
    What happened to the “good ol’days” when kids had their costumes made?
    Oh yeah.
    Target happened.

  2. Amanda said,

    Glad that you are feeling better…and I cannot wait to see pics.
    Hugs.

  3. beagle said,

    Glad you’re feeling better.

  4. SaraS-P said,

    The best part is, I’d bet your smart little guy would know exactly what a femoral artery was!

  5. JessPond said,

    See, now, I’m a big wimp (and so is hubby) and we would have had the red light saber. We had better practice “no” now while we still can, right?? Because two…
    🙂

  6. Mary said,

    I saw a lot of Darth Vaders fencing a lot of Anakins when we were out doing our Halloween rounds! I said to DH, “hey look , internal conflict!” and he was like “Nerd!” 😉

  7. Carly said,

    I’m sorry you’ve been having such a rough time lately, but were doing a bit better. I check in from time to time, although I’m trying to limit my computer time….
    I’d love to see pics of the little Darth Vadar!


Leave a Reply

