December 21, 2007

Erin the grinch

Posted in The musings of Erin at 6:31 am by Erin

It’s December 21st.  The semester ended officially on the 17th.  I am sitting at my desk waiting for a slacker student advisee to show up.  He e-mailed me in a panic the other day to say that he couldn’t register because he had a hold on his account, and could I take it off?  I replied "No, the hold is there because you have to meet with me before you register–as it said in the e-mail I sent you in September.  Or as I told you in class in October, before you stopped showing up.  Jackass."  (OK, I might be embellishing a little bit about my response, but the spirit of the whole thing holds true.)  I said that I hadn’t planned on coming in before the new semester started but that I could be here on Friday at 9 a.m.  He wrote back, apologized for the inconvenience, and said he would be here at 9 a.m.

By my clock, it’s 9:21.  He has 9 minutes and then I’m leaving, and I’m NOT removing his hold and he will NOT be able to register until the semester starts.  And I don’t give a damn.  He has had MONTHS to do this; the fact that he waited until after the semester was over to register is his problem.  I’m trying to be accomodating.

Can you tell that I’m highly annoyed?

I’ve spent most of this month like this.  It’s supposed to be the holiday season, and I could hardly feel less holiday spirit.  We found out about M just a couple of days before Chanukah started, and we hung no decorations.  I could barely manage to wrap any presents for P.  We did candles and that was it.  Now it’s almost Christmas.  The three of us went to see Santa the other night, P and I bought the Christmas tree the next day, and then we all decorated it last night.  There are no other decorations up.  I haven’t even thought about what to get for J yet.  We haven’t bought anything for his brother or my siblings (despite the fact that for my siblings, Chanukah is long since over).

I just can’t get excited about it right now.  I’m happy that K will come home to us (I hope, please let us get a court date soon), but I’m still sad about M.  The end of the semester was particularly bad, for several reasons that I’ve since identified and hope will not happen again.  I’ve spent half the week dealing with car issues for J’s car–not even mine!  I do need to get an oil change and emissions test done on my car but because I’m off work, I get to sit in the damn waiting room at the auto shop and wait for J’s car while MY car gets worse and worse.  The guest bathroom wallpaper covers cardboard-backed drywall, and it’s pulling it off–which means that my choice is to remove the rest and re-wallpaper, instead of the easy and cheap painting that I was planning on doing.  Our bathroom floor is retiled and the walls have been primed but I still have to paint the walls and install the toilet.  The weather is miserable.  I am the grinchiest person I know right now.

Sorry, just had to vent.  I have to go shopping today to get the remainder of our Christmas things and I have absolutely no desire to do so.  The mall is going to be packed.  I don’t know what to get.  I’d rather be home painting our bathroom.  And it’s now 9:31 and I’m leaving.

8 Comments »

  1. DD said,

    Obviously, Slacker Student needs to learn a really good lesson in life long overdue. You were gracious to come in and to wait 30 minutes. It has nothing to do with grinching.
    It’s never too early to learn professionalism and respect for this kid.
    And what the heck? It gave you 10 minutes to get a couple things off your chest. Love ya, Babe.

  2. sky girl said,

    Hope it’s only good things from here on in. 🙂

  3. Dawn said,

    I agree – Mr. Slacker clearly needs some lessons on reality! If you’re in college and haven’t figured stuff like that out yet… let’s just say I do NOT feel sorry for him at all. Some people drive me crazy…that has nothing to do with grinchiness!

  4. Jitters said,

    I think you taught him the most valuable thing he could learn in school – ther are consequences if you do not do as directed.
    We, too, have not hung up decorations. Bah humbug.

  5. beagle said,

    I half-heartedly hung up a wreath on the front door last weekend.
    I’m trying to summon up some cheer and do something, anything, decorative inside.
    So Bah Humbug from me too but here’s hoping a lttle cheer sneaks in too.

  6. Mary said,

    Cracking down doesn’t make you a grinch, it makes you the representative of the real world. Even in the workplace, a lot of people feel like if they whine to the powers that be as if they were parental figures, all will be saved & slacking may go on. I think there’s an important time and place for the practice of slacking, it’s good for your blood pressure and all, 😉 but *not* when you’re inconveniencing others.

  7. JessPond said,

    Ugh. I’m sorry about all the STUFF.
    Your student should be hit. He needs to learn. I swear.
    I hope you’re feeling cheery soon and that all is not lost this holiday. 🙂

  8. I sympathize with your student issues right about now. My semester ended a week ago, and now I’m getting those e-mails– ‘Ummmm….. why did u giv me a d… umm…. i didnt think my grade was that low.” First of all, I don’t “give” anyone a grade– they earn a grade. And secondly, can someone tell me why a student who never earned anything about a “D” would think they could get an average that is HIGHER than a “D”? Yipes.
    (I didn’t realize I needed to vent my end-of-semester anger!) This is just to say– I understand your feelings!


Leave a Reply

