January 6, 2008

Nesting yet again

Posted in The musings of Erin at 2:33 pm by Erin

We’ve been doing minor renovations to our house for months now.  We tiled the guest bathroom, installed a new toilet, and will be re-wallpapering it soon.  We’ve almost completely redone our bathroom: tiled the floor; installed a new toilet; painted the walls–and since we hated the first two colors we tried, it took a while; sealed around the windows; got a new shower curtain; installed new cabinet door pulls, outlet covers, and switchplate; and I’m installing the new light fixture today.  I still have to make the upholstered valance and curtain, but then it will be finished.  (Yes, I’ll post pictures.)  We’re going to tile the kitchen floor, paint the kitchen and possibly cabinets,   There are some other things but all of it makes me very glad that we’re handy and can do the work ourselves, even if it does always take three times as long as we expect it will.

Suddenly, though, there are other things to do.  First, I got an e-mail yesterday with K’s new measurements–he’s up to almost 19 lbs and grew another cm, as did his head circumference.  There was even a new picture attached, and he looks almost like a different boy!  Then, I got a call from Ms. IU–I know, on a Saturday!–who said that they’d changed a policy.  Before my heart could stop for more than a second, she explained that they’ve decided to start giving out court dates to families who’ve accepted a referral.  I don’t know why they didn’t in the past, but I’m extremely happy to know that now they’re giving families more information.

Ours is January 29th.  They’re hoping we can travel the last week of February.  Do you know that’s only 7 weeks from now?  I need to wash clothes.  I need to buy diapers.  I have to change the nursery into a playroom, move the fold-out couch into the new playroom, move the baby dresser into P’s room, get P a loft bed, and reassemble K’s crib in P’s room.  I need to make packing lists and start collecting items from friends who are buying things for us to donate.  I have to re-read a million books about parenting and adoption.

Gulp.  I’m going to have a 15 1/2 month old running around my house soon.  Must get everything done immediately…

10 Comments »

  1. I was just hanging out with a friend and her 16-month old the other day and thinking that 16 months is a really fun age…It’s so exciting that you’re that much closer to having him at home. February is so close!
    As far as getting things done I know that sometimes I just need the due date to kick my butt into gear. If the deadline isn’t firm then I’ll just keep pushing it off. I have been known to plan a party just so I know that I’ll give the house a good scrubbing by a certain date.
    You could say that I have, uh, moderate procrastination issues.

  2. My Reality said,

    Wow, it is getting so close now! How exciting!

  3. Rebel said,

    Aww that is AWESOME Erin!!! I am so happy for you sweetie!!! I will keep praying that things go smoothly for you guys and that you little M is home so very soon!!! HUGS!!!!

  4. electriclady said,

    Oh my goodness–so close!!! This is so exciting! And 19 lbs–he’s getting big!

  5. Brea said,

    Wow, that’s really great news! 15 months is a great age. Praying for you in this scary, exciting time.

  6. Erin O' said,

    yay, yay, yay, yay, YAY!!! This is exciting!

  7. jesspond said,

    Holy cow that is soooooo exciting!!!

  8. Samantha said,

    Wow! So fast! Good luck getting everything ready!

  9. Jan said,

    Once you get started, everything will fall into place. I’m a master procrastinator, but I do some of my best work under pressure. I’m looking forward to seeing your pictures! When you’re done, I’d love for your to share your pics!
    http://www.unique-baby-gear-ideas.com/baby-nursery-theme-contest.html

  10. i’d love to see the photos of your renovations! do you have before/after pics? I’m glad that the call from Ms. IU was one bearing GOOD news— Jan 29 is so close. That’s a wonderful thing for your family!


Leave a Reply

