February 26, 2008

Of course we’re bringing the laptop!

Posted in All ahead to adoption at 7:18 pm by Erin

When we leave our house in…oh, about 15 hours…the laptop will absolutely be with us.  I can’t promise much in the way of posting since the guest house has dial-up that is shared with all of the families, the phone, and the office, but I will try to write posts in Word and then upload them quickly when I get a chance.  Pictures will probably have to wait until we come back.

I’m feeling surprisingly calm right now.  I’m not nervous about meeting K.  We got a huge social report on him, with wonderful photos (a ton of them!), information about how he eats, sleeps, plays, etc.  It is written by his nannies and since at this point everything is legal and finalized, they are very honest.  They’re very honest in a very nice way, though!  For example, K is apparently a really slow eater (as is P, so we’ll just have long mealtimes around here) and it was described as "requiring his nannies to have lots of patience."  I love it.  He’s also described as a child who rarely cries, and who is easily calmed and/or distracted when he does.  He’s affectionate and loves hugs.  And cars.

I’m still nervous about meeting K’s birthmother, but very happy that we’ll have the opportunity.  I’m going to ask her as much as I can.  Friends of ours asked their son’s birthmother to write him a letter for the future, and I would love to do that as well if she’s willing.

J and I went on a date tonight, thanks to my wonderful friend Christy, who stepped in at the last minute when our plans for P to go to a friend’s house were derailed by illness (at the other house–we’re all healthy for now, at least).  We went to a movie and got a bite to eat afterwards.  It was so nice to have a break from the stress of everything we’ve been doing, which included a lot of snippy words directed at each other, and enjoy each other’s company on the last day that we were at home before we become a family of four.

A family of four.  I can’t believe it.  It is really going to happen.

24 Comments »

  1. jesspond said,

    I was hoping for one last post!!
    A family of four. 🙂 I can’t wait for you, Erin. It’s so wonderful that it’s finally happening.
    Have a safe and happy trip. I hope everything you’re wishing for comes true!!! I’ll be thinking of you guys!!

  2. Krista said,

    Erin, I am so very, very happy for you. Safe travelling my friend and I can’t wait to read those posts and to hear all about your experience of meeting you new son!

  3. Krista said,

    Erin, I am so very, very happy for you. Safe travelling my friend and I can’t wait to read those posts and to hear all about your experience of meeting you new son!

  4. artsweet said,

    I have been very remiss in my commenting of late but have been reading faithfully.
    I’m so excited for you and your family. Mazel Tov, safe travels, and please please post if you’re able!

  5. Endobaby said,

    AGHHHHHHHHHH!
    I’m so happy for you!!!!!!
    good luck hon!

  6. Carly said,

    Have a safe and wonderful trip! Can’t wait to hear all about K from your direct observation, although he sounds wonderful!

  7. Shanna said,

    I know I haven’t been commenting these past few months, but I am reading along and BOUNCING with excitement for you!

  8. Mary said,

    Wishing you a safe trip! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  9. Fantastic! I will be checking your blog religiously. Bon Voyage!

  10. Samantha said,

    Bon Voyage! Have fun!

  11. beagle said,

    Good Luck with everything!
    Safe Travels!

  12. sky girl said,

    Oh Erin. I’m so excited about all of this so I can only imagine how you must be feeling!
    Safe travels, my friend.

  13. electriclady said,

    Have a WONDERFUL trip and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  14. Mel said,

    Wow! It’s here, it’s here. This trip is finally here. Have safe travels and a wonderful time.

  15. Eva said,

    I guess you are en route! How exciting!

  16. Erin O' said,

    OMG!!! Have an amazing trip — My best to all of you. It really brings me back, thinking of you going. I get chills just thinking about it!

  17. May said,

    Wow, you’re off!!! Best of luck!

  18. Ms. C said,

    Oh Erin! This is so marvelous! I can`t wait for the updates.
    Have a safe flight, and enjoy the journey.
    Such happiness!!!

  19. FiestyKel said,

    Very exciting, wishing you well!

  20. You’re probably on the plane but have fun! And pick up some silver jewelry while you’re there – they have some beautiful stuff.

  21. My Reality said,

    You are probably well on your way by now. I will be thinking of all of you and can’t wait to meet K!

  22. Jitters/Enat said,

    Erin I am so thrilled to hear more. It is finally happening! I have been thinking of you all day and will continue to do so.
    Go meet your little man!

  23. Courtney said,

    It’s 12:55pm back home and 8:55 pm in Ethiopia right now and that means you will soon be going to bed knowing that you will be waking up (if you actually managed sleep this night) to meeting your son! Wow! I hope the travels went smoothly and I hope you ARE or HAVE gotten some rest and, oh my, but I can’t wait to read your updates!!!

  24. lucky2 said,

    Prayers for a safe voyage and a blessed meeting of your son. Can’t wait to hear your updates!


Leave a comment