May 5, 2008

If you thought…

Posted in The musings of Erin at 9:07 pm by Erin

…that I was a responsible individual.

…that I would NEVER shorten my office hours tomorrow afternoon in order to have another lunch date with my husband*

…that I was able to stay cheery without any assistance** through an extremely long day at school today

…that I wasn’t a big huge nerd who is judging the International Science and Engineering Fair next week

…that, surely, if I was such a nerd, I would be blase about it and not admit to being incredibly excited about judging at the ISEF

…that, surely, the night before my class’s final meeting that I would have their papers graded

…that I would NEVER have stayed in the boys’ room to read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets*** for a while even after they’d both fallen asleep rather than grading papers

…that, if I wasn’t going to grade their papers, I would surely at least go to bed at a reasonable hour

…that I would never, ever, EVER blog instead of grading papers or going to bed

Then you would be wrong.

****************************************************

*I can’t imagine my office hours really matter tomorrow, as my last final is in the morning and who in the world will be coming by after exams are over?

**002I painted my toenails blue last night.  And wore open-toed sandals with a little heel today.  I smiled every time I looked at them.  Who needs chemical assistance?  I just need blue toenails.  (Please ignore the hideousness of the toes themselves–I haven’t had time to give myself the full pedicure that I desperately need.)

***For the 18 millionth time.

6 Comments »

  1. Jenn said,

    WooHoo! Lunch date again? Lucky girl! 🙂
    I like the pretty blue toes… where did you get that color?

  2. Dr. Grumbles said,

    Heck, teaching can wear you out. We need to slack off a bit too towards the end!

  3. Erin O' said,

    I am a huge fan and former wearer of blue nail polish. It was my color.
    Glad to hear you’re having fun (love HP) and that you and J are going on dates. Yay!! When a partner listens and responds, that is LOVE.

  4. Heather said,

    Love the blue toenails. Every once in awhile we just need to do something that makes us smile!! 🙂

  5. Courtney said,

    Happy end of the school year to you!

  6. Christy said,

    Oh my gosh, you ARE a huge nerd! I had no idea such immense nerdiness was only two three doors down. I’m a little bit scared, but mostly just mesmerized by your frosty toes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

