April 24, 2009

I have no idea what’s going on lately

Posted in The musings of Erin at 9:51 am by Erin

I feel like I'm walking around in a fog.  Not an unhappy fog; on the contrary, I feel stupid and yet happy.  Little things are passing me by.  Did you know, for example, that it is already April 24th?  That's almost May.  J and I are supposed to go to Costa Rica for our 10th anniversary in June.  Ask me if I've even started planning the trip, beyond picking dates and asking my ILs if they'll watch the kids.  Ask me if I've gotten my passport renewed, since it expired a month ago.  Go on, ask away…but I'll bet you don't need to.

Our readoption hearing for K was rescheduled from Monday because the judge's assistant was too busy to read our paperwork until the Friday before the hearing.  Have I called her to reschedule?  No.  At first it was because I was angry with her for scheduling it 2 months ago and then rescheduling it at the last minute, but now it just keeps slipping my mind.

Ask me if I've gotten the forms to get P registered for kindergarten yet.  He gets registered 2 weeks from yesterday.  Have I called the pediatrician's office yet?  Have I found out about any open houses yet?  Not a whit.  Actually, I think I may just be in denial that my oldest baby is starting kindergarten.

I was brilliant this semester and had students turn in their research papers a month before the end of the semester.  The semester ends in 10 days.  Guess what I've just started grading?  Guess how many tests I gave this week that also need to be graded?  Three!  Three tests and a pile of research papers!  Not to mention writing finals and grading lab reports and all other things.  Am I working on them now?  No, I'm blogging.  I seriously have this mental block about everything teaching related right now.  I keep reminding myself that it all gets done somehow at the end of the semester, therefore it will all get done.  But I can't seem to connect the fact that it all gets done with the fact that I GET it all done.  It doesn't get done without my help.

I hope to break through it this weekend.  But it's going to be gorgeous outside, we have lots of plans, and my garden is simply begging to be planted more extensively.  I guess I'll just stay in my happy little fog until it breaks!

3 Comments »

  1. JessPond said,

    Hey, happy is happy!!! STUFF will wait! 🙂

  2. DD said,

    Fogs can be nice when you’ve got a pile of blah to deal with on your plate, but I hope it does blow over soon. There’s some beautiful things to enjoy, too.

  3. Betty M said,

    Happy fog I hope. A beautiful weekend will do wonders for the soul. Tasks can wait sometimes.


Leave a Reply

