August 21, 2009

Mixed bag

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:53 pm by Erin

1. It made me really sad to go to the consignment sale yesterday and only buy clothes in sizes 6/7.  I couldn’t even bring myself to look at the little tiny sizes.

 

2. On the other hand, it made me really happy today to have an impromptu…uh…interlude with my husband after P was on the bus and K had been dropped off at daycare.  We didn’t exactly make it upstairs 😉

 

3. It also made me really happy that we both committed to doing work all morning after said interlude, then played hooky for the afternoon and went to a movie together.  I’m trying to think of the last movie we saw together in a theater and can’t.

 

4. I am really starting to resent teaching so many Bradley classes.  Teaching childbirth classes in my current mindset is seriously messing me up.  And yet I have another class scheduled, with students signed up and money in hand, to start in a few weeks.  I’m running 2 a week right now to help financially.  I’m wondering at the cost to my peace of mind.

 

5. I really wish we had a synagogue closer to home.  I work near my synagogue, so I’m there nearly every day (Fridays off this semester).  We have services on Saturday and now P is supposed to start Sunday school on Sunday.  It’s a 25 minute drive with no traffic.  Urgh.  But I know that we won’t find nearly what we’re looking for anywhere closer to home, so we’re kind of stuck.  And since I won’t move into that area (96% white), I guess I’d better get used to it.

 

6. I’m pretty sure that if I stay on the same track as I have been for the past few months, I will get my period twice in August.  Because August wasn’t going to be painful enough for me.  I started it August 2nd and *think* I ovulated around the 16th.  So I should start spotting by the end of this week.

 

7. My parents’ cat is dying.  She has terminal cancer and might have a month left.  Thankfully, she’s not in pain.  This is a 15-year-old cat that was left on our doorstep as a 5-6 week old kitten when I was a senior in high school.  I opened the door when the kids left her, rang the doorbell, and ran off.  If my mom had opened the door, she probably never would have been let in…but I opened the door and she stayed forever.  She slept in my room for the first few nights.  I woke up with her sleeping on my arm.  She was small enough to hide in a tissue box.  She was too tiny to jump out of the bathtub when she had her first flea bath.  Everyone outside of the family loathes her–she’s really mean to anyone else–but for my parents, myself, my sister, and my brother, she’s still our little cat.  It doesn’t matter how long I’m gone, she always remembers me and gives me kisses.  I’m praying for some sort of miracle that will let her live without pain until Christmas so that I can see her again before she dies.

9 Comments »

  1. Krista said,

    Ahhh.. an interlude…. seems like a million years away right now. And a movie… I think the last one I saw was Harry Potter at the drive in when Caden was 2 months old. So 2 years ago.

    And does K really wear a size 6 already? Glad to hear things are mostly going well. Hope you can give up or slow down the Bradley classes soon.

  2. The Sane In-Law said,

    What’s an interlude and why would there be one BEFORE a movie?

    Sorry to hear about the kitty. Make sure your parents have some pictures to hand out and I’ll hope he’ll hang on well into next year. You just never know.

  3. DD said,

    Do you have another comment sitting in your spam or pending from The Sane In-Law?

    If so, that was me. Sorry ’bout that.

  4. JessPond said,

    Things that made me giggle:

    “an interlude” and not moving somewhere where there’s too many white people. It took me a couple seconds to get why you hate white people! Hahaha! 😉

    I wish you didn’t have to teach the childbirth classes. And I mean “have to” but still. I bet it feels that way.

    Thinking of you.

  5. antropologa said,

    The childbirth class thing would get me, too. Oof.

    Very sorry about the cat.

  6. My Reality said,

    I long for sex that is fun and spontaneous. Right now, Mr. W won’t touch me. Period.

    Do you ever have people in your classes who have dealt with infertility? Or are they all fertile?

  7. Aunt Becky said,

    I really could handle An Interlude.

  8. betty m said,

    Interludes in the middle of the week?! Lucky you. Sorry about the not so good stuff though.

  9. pcosbabyerin said,

    Yeah, the interlude was good.

    MyReality, it seems like almost everyone in my class is fertile. I always start every series by mentioning that I am infertile and it took us a long time to get pregnant with P. Every once in a while, someone will then share that they had trouble conceiving, but sometimes their “trouble” is 6 months of TTC. Other than 3 sets of friends who took the class after IVF, I can only think of two others who’ve needed any sort of help to get pregnant that I know of.


Leave a Reply

