November 13, 2009

Wanted: new reading material!

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:50 pm by Erin

First, I haven’t sent out the password yet, so don’t worry.  Everyone who has e-mailed me is getting it.  I just have too many thoughts running around in my head right now to sort any of them out, coupled with NaBloPoMo on my family blog (if we’re FB friends, you can see it through there).

 

But I’m putting in a request, as I do every so often: the semester is winding down, thank goodness.  I have 4 lectures and a test left in each of my classes before their final exams, and then I have a month off.  I could use some reading material and thought it would be a good time to set up my library wishlist so that I can slowly start adding things to the request page.

 

I’m up for anything from chick lit to non-fiction, but I do prefer fiction.  Someone recommended the Sookie Stackhouse series and I’ve got that on my list but that’s it so far.  Help!

 

Thanks all, I know I can count on you to help 🙂

14 Comments »

  1. Amanda said,

    First…can I get the password (please??). As for books…

    A Homemade Life

    The Elm Creek Quilters series

    Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

    Wild Swans

  2. JessPond said,

    Have you read Pillars of the Earth and World Without End by Ken Follet? I just finished World Without End and read Pillars of the Earth several times (yes, it IS long, why do you ask?) when I was in school (yes, I read Pillars of the Earth as a kid. What of it?) and they are EXCELLENT.

  3. sky said,

    Ever read any Jennifer Weiner? Love her.

  4. Courtney said,

    Hey you!
    Been sick but am now catching up on blogs and see you have had a LOT going on. Miss you. Would definitely like your password, please! Also would love to catch up in person. Story time next Tuesday or after finals or on a Thursday night some time maybe?

    As for books:
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is one of my favorite books EVER!*
    A.J. Jacobs The Know It All made me laugh out loud–repeatedly! Also thought provoking and even poignant at times.
    A second for The Elm Creek Quilters series and Jennifer Weiner
    William Brodrick’s books are really beautiful–thought provoking and generous in spirit and fine mysteries to boot! The Sixth Lamentation; The Gardens of the Dead; and A Whispered Name
    Gail Tsukiyama writes beautiful and wonderful books:The Samurai’s Garden; Women of the Silk and The Language of Threads; Dreaming of Water
    The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer*
    Lisa See’s books (I loved BOTH Snowflower and the Secret Fan and Peony in Love)*
    Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is on my “to read” list and comes highly recommended by my mom who is in a really great book club
    The Penderwicks books by Jeanne Birdsall are actually children’s books and WONDERFUL!!!You can tell the author loved books as a kid.*

    *I can lend you the starred books, actually

  5. My Reality said,

    I may take some of these suggestions myself!

  6. irshlas said,

    The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
    A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini
    The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan (reading now but so far so good)
    Anything by Maeve Benchy (generally Ireland is the setting) – Evening Class, Tara Road, Quentins are my faves
    The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison

    Just a few… of course, just b/c I like something doesn’t always translate well to the rest of the world 😉

  7. docgrumbles said,

    I have recently appreciated Blindness, The Help, and I am currently enjoying Juilet, Naked (unless it turns stupid suddenly I’d recommend it).

    I recently did not care for The Magicians and My Sister’s Keeper.

  8. thalia said,

    Patrick Gale. Anything by him but probably start with Rough Music.

  9. Anne said,

    I second The Bonesetter’s Wife, as well as Amy Tan’s other books. Recent books I’ve enjoyed include Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen and Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende. If you like fantasy at all, I highly recommend The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. If you like historical mysteries, I recommend the Marcus Didius Falco series by Lindsey Davis and Kate Ross’s mysteries (Cut to the Quick, A Broken Vessel, Whom the Gods Love, and The Devil in Music). If thrillers interest you, I’ve enjoyed several Daniel Silva books featuring Gabriel Allon.

  10. chezperky said,

    As much praise as the Kite Runner got – I just couldn’t get into it. I’ve got a copy that I can’t finish if you want me to mail it down to you! (it’s extremely rare for me not to finish a book – I like closure and hate loose ends – but that doesn’t mean YOU won’t enjoy it… plenty of people love it).

    I read The Glass Castle by Jeannette (sp?) Walls while I was in the hospital. It’s a memoir, but I swear, you’ll think it’s fiction. I liked it because it gave me a real sense of perspective on my screwed up family. Seriously. 😉

    Probably I have a few others, but that’s the one that sticks out in my head.

    • Erin said,

      I actually did read The Kite Runner and really didn’t like it. I read the whole thing but didn’t enjoy it. However, I did like A Thousand Splendid Suns quite a lot!

  11. Meg said,

    Hi Erin, haven’t been to my reader in a while – may I have the password please?

  12. Ferenje Mama said,

    Long time no lurk but its good to be back. As an English teacher I could recomend a few classics to get you back on the literary wagon… but I am just going to suggest a few of my more recent faves:

    * The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (and no, I haven’t seen the flick yet…)
    * The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larrson – he has two others in this series which I am yet to read
    * anything by Australian writer Tim Winton – very much about Aussie lanscape and detailed characters. Very Australian. (Cloudstreet and Dirt Music are my faves)
    * Eat, Pray, Love – this totally speaks to me!
    * Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon – pure historical romance

    I won’t recommend the Twilight series because I haven’t read them yet, although that is my holiday reading.

    Have a good break.

  13. Heather said,

    Did I miss out on the password e-mail? I’m behind in my bloglines and I don’t remember an e-mail from you. Maybe I didn’t ask? My brain is all fuzzy lately. Can I get it though? Pretty, pretty, pretty please??


Leave a Reply

