January 26, 2010

Day 11

Posted in Momming, Ramblings o' P at 2:22 pm by Erin

Good news: good workout this morning!  Delicious blueberry tea at work!  About to eat taco salad for lunch!

And on the opposite side…we are struggling so much with parenting P lately.  He’s such a sweet kid under most circumstances, but sometimes he just gets in these moods and they’re awful.  Defiance, arguing, tears, etc.  He had one this morning right before school and we actually had to send our neighbors on without him (we carpool and it’s their week to drive) so we could deal with him.  We haven’t found a way to get through them yet, and it’s wearing on us.  And they’re never followed by a good day.  Case in point: he had on on Sunday before Sunday school, and his Sunday school teacher asked me “Is he getting sick?  He was just not himself today!”  I’m not expecting today to be a good day for him at school.

I think a lot of it is related to him being tired.  He didn’t get a good night sleep on Saturday since we were out at our friends’ house until 9 p.m. (he usually goes to bed at 7:30).  Last night, I got home from work at 8 p.m. (don’t worry, I didn’t have to leave to go in until almost 4) and the kids were not only still up but playing downstairs!  I was so ticked at J, let me tell you…  But the fact is, he missed almost an hour of sleep last night and threw a tantrum this morning.  We need to be extra-vigilant in getting him to bed and hope that takes care of most of it.

*sigh* This parenting stuff is hard.  Fun most of the time, but hard.  Now I need a nap!

Oh, so that I only end on good news: I only have to be at work for another 40 minutes and then I’m going home to play with my kids!  And J is making dinner tonight!

2 Comments »

  1. Krista said,

    I had pretty much my worse parenting day ever Monday for exactly the same reason. We were at my brother’s house Sunday evening and stayed until 9:30 (bedtime 7:30 for both my kids) and then Caden was up twice Sunday night. Today was much better but then last night he slept from 8:00 to 8:30am!.

  2. Tim & Rhianna said,

    Hey, just wanted to say that I can completely relate about the parenting issues with P. There are just those days. Most of the time I feel that they’re explainable (ie., lack of sleep), but sometimes they’re just not and they’re wretched. You think, “who is this child screaming and thrashing before me?” Hang in there; I *think* it’s universal, although you feel pretty alone when you’re going through it. I think there’s teaching to be done, but also a lot of patience as they mature.


Leave a Reply

